Sunday, August 11, 2019

Money Is Murder by Carolyn Arnold - Book Review

Today, I'm featuring an author, I've read and reviewed several times on Nadaness In Motion. This is my third read in her cozy mystery series, I've also read one in her historical fiction adventure novels and one of her police procedural thrillers. Today, I'm doing a book review as part of a blog tour :) 

Join me in welcoming…. *drum roll* CAROLYN ARNOLD

Book: Money Is Murder
(McKinley Mystery Series book 3)
Author: Carolyn Arnold
Publisher: Hibbert & Stiles  

"So, this guy's asking you from the grave to solve his daughter's murder?"

Money Is Murder by Carolyn Arnold is the third book in the McKinley Murder Mysteries. The books are connected by the characters but can easily be read as standalones. My first read in the series was book 6, Coffee Is Murder and my second was book 8, Halloween Is Murder.

The book opens with the star couple Sara and Sean McKinley coming back from their honeymoon, which wasn't mystery-free. We learn that they were murder detectives but Sean inherited billions, which allowed him and Sara to quit their jobs and get married.
In Money Is Murder, we are told more about the benefactor who left Sean his wealth, a Mr. Douglas Quinn. Quinn leaves Sean a secret key and later a note asking him to look into his late daughter's death, which had been ruled a suicide.

"Situations around her death are intriguing and we don’t' even know a lot yet."

Alternate cover for Money Is Murder
Now Sean and Sara are set to meet up with employees and management from Quinn's mega-company Universal Acquisitions Corporation. From there they begin to take notes and share their intuitions about the people they meet.

There's a bit of romance in Money Is Murder, considering the couple just married and returned from their honeymoon. A little surprising, especially at the beginning, since I'm not used to that in cozy mysteries. But it's not over the top.

I loved how Sean and Sara would always sit together, bounce ideas, and discuss their findings and how they feel about the people they meet. Sara is sweet and astute; her mind picks up details quickly and easily lays them out when it's time to talk about the murder.

I felt like I needed to know why Quinn left Sean his money a little early on in the novel. It was a missing piece for me.

"No, I think she was murdered and it's likely someone from within these walls is behind it. And, if you ask me, I think it's her death that killed Mr. Quinn."

On the other hand, one of the things I liked about Money Is Murder is the quick pace made even more so by the short chapters. I enjoyed the mystery and the overall read. I liked getting into Sara's head.

Another thing was the action, there was a lot of it in Money Is Murder and I loved the thrill!

Overall, I think Carolyn Arnold's Money Is Murder is a fun and exciting read. I liked the financial aspect and how each book in the series comes with a theme.

Note: I received a free copy of Money Is Murder by Carolyn Arnold as part of a blog tour by Escape with Dollycas Virtual Book Tours.

Other books reviewed by Nadaness In Motion from the McKinley Mysteries are Coffee Is Murder, which features an excerpt and Halloween Is Murder.

Other books by Carolyn Arnold, reviewed by and on Nadaness In Motion:

Mystery, thriller On the Count of Three and Past Deeds from The Brandon Fisher mystery series and What We Bury from the Detective Madison Knight Mystery series

Adventure, historical fiction, and mystery in The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh

Note 2: Money is Murder also includes the first 3 chapters from the subsequent book in the series, Politics Is Murder.

Note 3: Keep up with the rest of the blog tour including more reviews as well as guest posts and interviews here.

Book Overview (in published order)
1.     The Day Job is Murder (2014)
2.     Vacation is Murder (2014)
3.     Money is Murder (2014)
4.     Politics is Murder (2014)
5.     Family is Murder (2014)
6.     Shopping is Murder (2014)
7.     Christmas is Murder (2014)
8.     Valentine’s Day is Murder (2015)
9.     Coffee is Murder (2015)
10.  Skiing is Murder (2016)
11. Halloween Is Murder (2017)

Buy Money Is Murder by Carolyn via Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Apple, or Google Play

About the Author:

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.
She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online via her website, Twitter, Facebook, and don't forget to sign-up for her newsletter, which includes updates on new releases and special offers.

No comments:

Post a Comment